Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
Another I witnessed, while grading umpires - varsity level travel game being played under ASA rules. R1 from 1st rounding 2nd doesn't see F6 and they go down in a heap. BU signals OBS. BR is sent to 2nd after coach sees the signal, and makes it barely. F4 now has the ball. R1 literally crawls back to the base. As soon as she gets to 2nd, they tag BR again, who is now out.
That coach managed to stay in the game ... although I am not sure I'd have kept him in if I was the umpire on the spot.
|
I don't think I have an out here -- although I can understand the reasoning.
I don't have my book with me, but the phrase "protect the obstructed runner to the base you judge they would have reached,
AND put any other runners on the base they would have reached had there been no obstruction" is stuck in my head. Can we put R1 on 2B and return R2 to 1B?