Thread: Pick / Charge
View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 10, 2007, 03:37pm
Mark Dexter Mark Dexter is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckElias
As I said, that comment wasn't meant to apply to the original post.

I'm picturing A1 jumping to catch the pass and B1 jumping into his path, allowing A1 to return to the floor, but not time and distance to avoid the contact. In that case, (a) if A1 catches the ball, it's a player control foul; (b) if A1 bobbles the ball, it's a block.

Sorry I was unclear.
Has Zorro been unmasked?

Much clearer now, though, although I think that the rules would indicate calling a block in both situations. Both 4-23-4 (opponent with the ball) and 4-23-5 (moving oponent without the ball) state that "If the opponent [with the ball] is airborne, the guard must have obtained legal position before the opponent left the floor."
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote