View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 04, 2007, 08:30am
Dakota Dakota is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
We seem to have some recent postings where incorrect nomenclature is being used for runners.

R1 = runner closest to home at the time of the pitch
R2 = runner next closest to home
R3 = runner on 1B with bases loaded (i.e. third closest to home)

In softball nomenclature, the # after the R tells you nothing about which base the runner started on. It tells you the order of the runners on the bases.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Four Seam
Two outs. R2 on first base and R1 on third base. Batter hits grounder.

A. R2 rounds second base, missing the base. Ball is played to second base and bag is touched before R2 returns to the base. Is the runner out on force-out and no run can score (ASA Rule 8-7-C, force out) ? Or is this an appeal play, defense must appeal and tell BU she missed the base, so that run can score if home plate touched before appeal is made?

B. Is answer the same if R2 overruns or slides past second basewithout touching the bag and base is touched before she can scramble back to the bag?

Thank you for replies.
Both are live ball appeals, and if there is any doubt as to what the defense is doing, the defense will need to state the reason for the appeal. Both are also force plays, and if the appeal is for the third out, no runs will score regardless of the timing. In fact, a dead ball appeal of a base missed to which the runner was forced for the third out would have the same result.
__________________
Tom

Last edited by Dakota; Fri May 04, 2007 at 08:32am.
Reply With Quote