View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 26, 2007, 08:24am
David B David B is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickrego
Getting ready to move from CA to GA, so all my rule / case books are packed.

Today, I had a situation that was almost a Batter's Interference, but I felt the Catcher gave up because the Runner had returned to 1st base, rather than because the Batter had stepped in front of him.

Anyway...

I know that for all situations, other than less than 2 outs with the Runner attempting to score from 3rd, the Batter would be out, and all Runners return on Batter's Interference.

But like today, what if the pitch was Strike 3, and the Batter was already out (1st out of the inning), and then caused Interference in a situation where the Batter is supposed to be out and the Runners returned ?

Thanks in advance.
I'm assuming varsity ball?

You might have to think about the intent. If F2 never attempts to make a play then how can you have interference.

We can't just assume that the F2 was going to make a play.

Now if its "small ball" might be a little different.

Bob had the answer as to who is out!

Thanks
David
Reply With Quote