Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
What about 4-15-4(a)-"The dribble ends when the dribbler catches or causes the ball to come to rest in both hands".? Isn't that what actually happened in this play? You just apply R4-44-2 to the subsequent action.
You're overthinking the hell outa this one imo.
|
It has been a real long time since anyone has accused me of
overthinking something.
Go back and look at the original post - he says the player was dribbling up the court in a one-on-one situation, batted the ball over the head of the defender, caught it before it hit the ground and shot all in one motion. The violation occured because he caught it before it hit the ground, per 4-15-2. If, for example, the ball hit the ground behind the defender after the bat, then he catches it and shoots in one motion, it would be a legal play.