Thread: Self bat
View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 25, 2007, 03:02pm
M&M Guy M&M Guy is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old School
My call is when he touches the ball again after passing it to himself, he traveled with the ball. He went from here to here without dribbling it. Damn I'm good.
Um, no you're not, just lucky in this case.

Yep, I believe the OP was a violation, but not for the reason you state. In fact, if the ball had hit the ground before he picked it up and shot, you would be wrong, because, by rule, it would be a legal dribble. So, since it's a dribble, a basketball rule fundamental (not one of them pesky little technical thingies, but an actual fundamental) states you cannot travel during a dribble.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote