View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 14, 2007, 11:07pm
Adam's Avatar
Adam Adam is offline
Keeper of the HAMMER
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Originally Posted by blindzebra
Actually the definition only uses the words endline and division line, and says nothing about the sidelines, so yes, for clarity sake, the word inbounds should be stated.
Let's see.
Originally Posted by Rule 9-8
A player shall not be, nor may his/her team be, in continuous control of a ball which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds.
Originally Posted by Rule 9-7-1
A player shall not remain for three seconds... while the ball is in control of his/her team in his/her frontcourt.
Originally Posted by Rule 4-35
Art. 1. The location of a player or nonplayer is determined by where the player is touchingthe floor as far as being:
a. Inbounds or out of bounds.
b. In the frontcourt or backcourt.
c. Outside (behind/beyond) or inside the three-poin field-goal line.
Art. 2. When a player is touching the backcourt, out of bounds or the three-point line, the player is located in backcourt, out of bounds, or inside the three-point line, respectively.
Art. 3. The location of an airborne player....
Originally Posted by Rule 4-4
Art. 1. A ball which is in contact with a player or with the court is in the backcourt if either the ball or the player is touching the backcourt.
Art. 2. A ball which is in contact with a player is in the frontcourt if neither the ball nor the player is touching the backcourt.
I maintain that the 10 second violation would still not apply during a throwin even if team control does, because the ball does not get BC status until either it or the player touching it touches the BC. This would not be happening on a throwin.

If you define a throwin as having team control, then you would need to start the 10 second count once the inbounds pass touched the floor in the BC, or once it was tipped by a player from either team in the throwin team's BC.

Adding "in bounds" to the 10 second violation definition would do nothing to change that, however, so the definition would need to be tweaked further to prevent that.

I will concede that the 3 second count would need to start during a throwin (if an offensive player was in the lane) if team control is added; based strictly on the phrase in red above.

This could be rectified by adding "or out of bounds" to article 2. As article 2 is worded, the ball has front court status during a throwin no matter where the throwin is spotted. Adding team control to a throwin would also require an exception to the backcourt rule unless the phrase "or out of bounds" is added to 4-4-2.
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote