Thread: over & back?
View Single Post
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 10, 2007, 01:45pm
WAWhistleBlower WAWhistleBlower is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 9
The Mark's have it....this is a backcourt violation. Never a kick ball unless intentional.
Along with the rule reference Denucci quoted, we also need to clarify what constitutes team control:

(ncaa)
Art. 2. A team shall be in control when:
a. A player of the team is in control;
b. While a live ball is being passed between teammates; or
c. When a player of that team has disposal of the ball for a throw-in.
Art. 3. Team control shall continue until the ball is in flight during a try for
goal, an opponent secures control or the ball becomes dead.
BR-69
Art. 4. There shall be no team control during:
a. A jump ball;
b. The tapping of a rebound (unless it is a try for goal);
c. A try for goal after the ball is in flight;
d. The period that follows any of these acts (a-c) while the ball is being batted
(from the vicinity of other players) in an attempt to secure control;
e. A dead ball.
Art. 5. Team control is re-established in Article 4 of this Rule when a
player secures control.
Art. 6. “Control” for purposes of establishing the alternating-possession procedure
occurs when:
a. A player is in control;
b. The ball is handed/bounced to or placed at the disposal of the freethrower
after a common foul or placed at the disposal of a throwerin.
Reply With Quote