Thread: Your ruling?
View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 30, 2007, 01:46pm
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
Newbies first, then veterans can correct them.

Bases loaded, 2 outs, full count, R1 and R2 off on the pitch. R3 not so bright. Pop up near 2nd base. R1 scores easily. R2 scores before the ball comes down. R3, seeing the popup, gives up and is standing about 15 feet off of first base.

F4 fails to catch the popup. After the ball hits the ground, F4 chases R3 back toward first, where BR has already rounded the bag, causing R3 to run (in reverse) past BR. R3 gets all the way back to the base and is tagged (BR is about where F4 started the play when the tag is made).

How many runs score and why?
Speaking ASA SP.

None, either R1 or R2 is out for leaving the base prior to the ball reaching the plate.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote