Thread: travel
View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 02, 2002, 10:44pm
Larks Larks is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,109
Quote:
Originally posted by dave58
did a youth game last nite player a is driving lane throws up off balance shot air ball momentum carries him toward ball he catches ball is this a travel i saw it as travel
closer ref made no call coach complained explained as he made shot attempt therefore travel was not called was this correct

Shot attempt here = no traveling.

NF 2001 / 2002 Case Book Pg. 33 Traveling or not - 4.43 Sitch B

"A1 Attempts a try after ending the dribble. The try does not touch the backboard, the rim or any other player. A1 runs and is able to catch the ball before it strikes the floor. Is it traveling? Ruling No. When A1 recovered his/her own try, A1 could either dribble, pass or try again. There was no team control after the ball was released on a try (see 4-12; 4-40)"

[Edited by Larks on Mar 3rd, 2002 at 08:55 AM]
Reply With Quote