Thread: Wrong Basket?
View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 01, 2002, 05:38pm
Riley1996 Riley1996 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 2
Exclamation

Alright, here's the deal...very simple actually...

I coach a junior high basketball team. During our championship game, we went into overtime. With about 30 seconds left in the game, I substituted a player into the game. Now, this player was essentially a bench warmer and with minimal play throughout the game. Well, this player went into the game (tied at the time) and recieved an in-bounds pass and scored...in the wrong basket. The other team recieved the two points as I know they should have. But, the refs then gave the other team the ball out of bounds! I admit that I wasn't completely sure of the ruling, but in previous games the team that had just scored in the wrong basket always recieved the ball, because the other team essentially just scored. However, this time they recieved the ball. Before I had time to argue, the other team in-bounded quickly and scored a 3-pointer. We lost. Now, although I cannot go back and argue still, I was just wondering if the ref did indeed make the wrong call.
Reply With Quote