Okay, here's the applicable rule as it pertains to this play:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rule Book
9-9-3...A player from the team not in control (defensive player or during a jump ball or throw-in) may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or backcourt.
|
Again, the debate is whether the parenthetical comment is meant to be all-inclusive or merely provide examples for when this allowance applies.