Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteBooth
I echo Bob, it's something that FED needs to "clear-up"
If you read the FED rule on FPSR violations there is no mention of making contact or altering the play.
If there is a FPSR situation and a player slides ILLEGALLY (as in this case when R1 did not slide directly to the bag) the call is
1. TIME
2. That's interference
3. 2 are out
However, if there is no FPSR situation in effect as I believe question 89 that Garth referred to applies then you need contact or alteration.
It's my gut that FED will change the wording / interp to that of NCAA in the upcoming year(s).
Pete Booth
|
Semantics I know Pete, but what is the definition of an illegal slide?
Thats the problem.
In the rule 2-32
2-32-2c - the runner goes beyound the base and then makes contact or alters the play of the fielder (they added that a few years ago about making contact i belive after the McNeely ruling)
But then you have 2-32-2f - the runner on a force play does not slide on the ground and in a direct line between the two bases - well if he's touching part of the direct line is he considered touching? (as would be a foul/fair ball, strike/ball)
It gives the umpire disgression IMO to make the call as he deems by the play.
So if it doesn't alter the play IMO its not a violation. I still can't find my rulings from a few years back but I think Carl covered this very clearly in one of his writings on the FPSR on the officiating.com site last year also.
Thanks
David