Thread: FEDlandia FPSR
View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 13, 2007, 10:31am
David B David B is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Right. But, does that apply to the roll-block, pop-up, beyond the base slides only (which contains the "and makes contact" wording in the slide definition), or does it also apply to the "on a force play slide directly to the base" slide, which does not contain the "contact" provision?

I'm not disagreeing, I'm seeking clarification. Like CoachJM, I find the wording in 8-4-2b confusing, especially when combined with Kyle McNeely's (?) interp of many years ago on one of these sites that contact was required.

I do know that NCAA changed the rule this year so contact / alteration is required, but it was clear at the clinic that any benefit of the doubt went to the fielder. In fact, one example was shown in which I could not see any contact / alteration, but they wanted it called a violation.
Exactly Bob, the more they try and clarify the more confusing it gets.

Perfect example the test question from FED - an illegal slide is always supposed to be penalized - so now if FED saying they don't want it penalized?

Sounds like another messed up test question.

Thanks
David
Reply With Quote