Thread: FEDlandia FPSR
View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 13, 2007, 07:59am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by GarthB
From the 2207 NFHS Test, part 1


Q. 89 A runner is out when he slides illegally even though he made no contact with a fielder nor altered the actions of the fielder who was making the play.

Fed answer: False.
Right. But, does that apply to the roll-block, pop-up, beyond the base slides only (which contains the "and makes contact" wording in the slide definition), or does it also apply to the "on a force play slide directly to the base" slide, which does not contain the "contact" provision?

I'm not disagreeing, I'm seeking clarification. Like CoachJM, I find the wording in 8-4-2b confusing, especially when combined with Kyle McNeely's (?) interp of many years ago on one of these sites that contact was required.

I do know that NCAA changed the rule this year so contact / alteration is required, but it was clear at the clinic that any benefit of the doubt went to the fielder. In fact, one example was shown in which I could not see any contact / alteration, but they wanted it called a violation.
Reply With Quote