Thread: Libero Serving
View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 09, 2007, 07:48am
FMadera FMadera is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Janesville, WI
Posts: 760
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueump
Here's the situation: FED rules

When Libero serves they do not have to "sit out" when going back to serve. When she finally gets across the back row and makes the next exchange how long does she legally have to sit out?

A. One serve, no matter who wins the point - she can come in after one serve.
B. One 1/2 rotation - she can only return after the server from her team loses the serve.
C. One full rotation - she can only return after her team rotates again.

I know this is a basic question, but we had a big disagreement with a coach tonight. I would love to have the rule number too if possible.
Rule 10-4 covers your libero procedures.

As Jan indicated, A is most correct.

B is only correct if the libero is to rotate into RB when she has already served in a different position. She would have to wait until the server has finished her term of serve, as the libero cannot rotate into RB when her team is serving unless she can be a legal server.

C is never a requirement.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee

Last edited by FMadera; Fri Mar 09, 2007 at 07:50am.
Reply With Quote