View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 05, 2007, 05:50am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
This play is very similar to a play that happened in a boys' H.S. varsity game here in NW Ohio about thirteen years ago.

The score is tied with less than one minute to play. Team H(ome) is going to have the ball for a throw-in on its endline oppostite the S(corer's)T(able). The court has rectangular (the 4ft by 6ft type) backboards. H1 released the pass toward a player on the ST side of the court. The pass hits the underside of the backboard and rebounds onto the court away from the endline. H2 recovers the pass and attempts a layup which was successful.

Now here comes the good part. V-HC requests a timeout for a correctable error. V-HC claims that the underside of the backboard is out of bounds and that Team H had committed a throw-in violation. But wait, it gets better. The officials agreed with V-HC. The officials canceled H2's field goal; then charged H-HC with a technical foul for unsportsmanlike conduct (Who would have guessed that he would have been upset about the officials' decision.). Team V made the free throws and won the game.
Lah me. A retroactive violation. Did the officials get disciplined for this one, Mark?
Reply With Quote