Quote:
Originally Posted by livingthedream
Would your ruling or reaction to the situation change if A1 and A2 were legal players on the court while fighting and cursing?
|
Here's my JuCo conference's interp concerning fighting between teammates (excerpted from one of our quizzes):
This may not apply where you officiate. These are NCAA rules references:
Teammates A1 and A-2 are arguing on their way to their bench after the TO is granted. A1 verbally abuses A2 and both grab each other and fall to the floor. Make a call. What do you call?
You are right if you review the current 2006-07 Rule Book and conclude that there is a contradiction in Rule 4-23 and Rule 10-17. The contradiction has been dully noted by Ed Bilik, NCAA, for a change in next year's Rule Book. In Rule 10-17.a .b .c, replace the word ‘opponent’ with the word ‘individual’ and that will eliminate the contradiction. As mentioned at the clinics, Rule 4-23 was a rewrite and inadvertently the change was not made in Rule 10-17. The intent of the rewrite of 4-23 was to clarify fighting and cover the situation described above since it is becoming a prevalent occurrence. At minimum direct technical fouls can be assessed to the Team A players, however, Rule 4-23 is the dominate rule and you are correct to charge both players with flagrant technical fouls and eject them for fighting.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Last edited by Raymond; Mon Feb 19, 2007 at 08:33pm.
|