View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 15, 2007, 04:59pm
RushmoreRef RushmoreRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
I don't think it matters. The only thing that might matter is whether B2 gained LGP before A1 last left his feet prior to contact between those two.
If the act of shooting has begun, the shooter can become airborne even after the foul, and then he is protected until he lands. So, you could have the following order of events:
1. Shooting motion begins by A1.
2. B1 fouls A1 from behind.
3. A1 jumps off his last foot for the layup he began before the foul.
4. A1 crashes into B2, creating a block/charge situation that could be called based on whether B2 gained position prior to A1's takeoff.
I have a hard time with that one....Yes, you'll let A1 continue his shooting motion, but I don't think you can become an airborne player after the whistle has already blown for a foul that is occuring on the floor before that actual shot has taken place....I don't disagree with your description, but in my opinion a foul on an airborne player, that player needs to be airborne when the foul occurs.

I'm getting ready leave for a game with two other guys...we'll discuss and case book/rule book it on the way....I'll come back on tomorrow with what we got....Good point....thanks
__________________
Do you really think it matters, Eddy?
Reply With Quote