View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 13, 2007, 06:47pm
gibb2k5 gibb2k5 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Tjones was answering this question. A pass from the backcourt touching the backboard constitutes frontcourt status, not possession. You only need to establish frontcourt status to have a backcourt violation.

Rule4-4-5-- "A ball which touches the front faces or edges of a backboard is the same as touching the floor inbounds, except when it touches the thrower's backboard it does not constitute part of the dribble."

From there, your play is just a judgment call as to whether it's a try or a pass.. You aren't going to get anything definitive in the rules one way or another. If you judge it a try---> legal play. If you judge it as a pass---> backcourt violation.
Thanks JR and everyone else, I was hoping it was something more then just a judgement call but with the rules references; it makes sense to me now.
Reply With Quote