View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 13, 2007, 06:31pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by gibb2k5
A vetern official told him that a pass from the backcourt touching the backboard constitutes front court possession but we couldn't find this covered in the rule book. Any thoughts?
Tjones was answering this question. A pass from the backcourt touching the backboard constitutes frontcourt status, not possession. You only need to establish frontcourt status to have a backcourt violation.

Rule4-4-5-- "A ball which touches the front faces or edges of a backboard is the same as touching the floor inbounds, except when it touches the thrower's backboard it does not constitute part of the dribble."

From there, your play is just a judgment call as to whether it's a try or a pass.. You aren't going to get anything definitive in the rules one way or another. If you judge it a try---> legal play. If you judge it as a pass---> backcourt violation.
Reply With Quote