At first reading, I didn't see a violation here, but after examining it further (or actually thought about it!

), I found the following:
The Fed (7-5-7) and NCAA (7-5.8) rules are worded similarly here. Essentially, a player taking the throw-in after a score has two options: to make a direct throw-in pass IB, or pass the ball
to another teammate OOB.
According to NCAA Approved Ruling 155 (text on page BR-133 of the NCAA rules, following 7-5.8), the player in your situation has done neither and has, therefore, violated.
I don't know if there is a similar Fed case play to cover this (I'm sure someone will feel free to quote it if there is!), but I would think they would rule in the same way.
I wouldn't feel so bad about this if it were a baseball question, but, geez, I've been officiating basketball (on the floor and at the table) since I was in HS... hell, it put me through university, and that was a while ago!
Oh well, you never stop learning, right?
Andrew