
Mon Feb 05, 2007, 08:57pm
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
You were right. Your partner is a fool. It's in the Case Book, not once, but TWICE!
4.15.4 SITUATION C: After dribbling and coming to a stop, A1 throws the ball: (a) against the opponent's backboard and catches the rebound; (b) against an official, immediately recovers the ball and dribbles again; or (c) against his/her own backboard in an attempt to score (try), catches the rebound and dribbles again. RULING: A1 has violated in both (a) and (b). Throwing the ball against the opponent's backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board. In (c), the action is legal. Once the ball is released on the try, there is no player or team control, therefore, A1 can recover the rebound and begin a dribble.
DRIBBLE RULE
9.5 SITUATION: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the ball against the opponent's backboard or an official and catches the rebound. RULING: A1 has violated. Throwing the ball against an opponent's backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board. (4-15-2; Fundamental 19)
|
I just have to make a quick comment on this one. A kid throws the ball off me, on purpose, whether he was just trying to get a new dribble or not, chances are he's on the bench the rest of the game!!
|