Thread: Wrong basket
View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 05, 2007, 08:16pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinski
Let me add one more question to this.
What if A2, after picking up her dribble, would have shot from say 10 feet away at the opponent’s basket and then the ball hits the rim only (not the backboard) and the ball does not go in the basket. A2 then runs over and catches her rebound. Would this also be an illegal dribble or a travel (not sure which)? Wouldn’t this be the same as the player passing the ball to her self?
1. There is no rule against passing to oneself in the NFHS.
2. You have to judge whether or not the "pass" meets the definition of a legal dribble.
3. In your play above, if the ball strikes the floor before A2 catches it, then the correct call is (illegal) double dribble per 9-5.
4. In your play above, if the ball is caught in the air off the ring without striking the floor, then you need to know whether or not A2 moved her pivot foot. If not, then the play is legal because there is nothing in the rules which explicitly forbids this action; if she moved her pivot foot to a new location, then the play is an illegal dribble per 4.15.4 Sit E.

4.15.4 SITUATION E: (a) A1 tosses the ball from one hand to the other while keeping his/her pivot foot in contact with the floor; or (b) A1 throws the ball over the head of B1 and then takes several steps before catching it. RULING: Legal in (a), but an illegal dribble violation in (b). In (b), since the ball did not touch the floor, the tossing and subsequent catch is an illegal dribble. (9-5)
Reply With Quote