Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzy6900
STOP! You will get into trouble if you explain it that way!
In your first scenario, you started with R1, correct? If there is a balk, R1 is Protected only to second base. If R1 goes beyond second, he is on his own.
Now, if you explain it that way to a coach, he will understand you. More importantly, if you remember it that way, you will apply the rule correctly in any situation! Simply remember where the runner started and how far he is protected. The rest is academic.
|
So infact your inforcing the balk for both runner AND batter but indicating the dead ball situation doesn't apply until the play is dead. Since R1 choose to proceed past his awarded base he is out.
What about the second situation that I presented with R1 and R3??
If I was to take a stab using the original situation as a basis: R3 is awarded home and R1 is out because he proceed past his awarded base.