Thread: Block/charge
View Single Post
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 27, 2007, 06:38pm
Adam's Avatar
Adam Adam is offline
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by IUgrad92
Again, two good examples of where if you let all of this go as long as the offended player is 'not affected', is just giving a message to the defense that they might as well go for broke every play, instead of thinking twice on reaching, etc. Can't remember every calling more than 2 fouls on one player for a rebounding foul in one game. Usually after the first, and definitely after the second, they are very aware of the other players around them in a rebounding situation and make better decisions.
The fact is that the rules don't call it a foul without advantage or displacement of some sort. I'll ask the question this way, as it paraphrases your question to Mark.

When do you apply rule 4-27?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rule Book
Article 1: The mere fact that contact occurs does not constitute a foul....
Article 3: Similarly, contact which does not hinder the opponent from participating in normal defensive or offensive movements should be considered incidental.
It's not a foul without an illegal advantage, so you are unfairly penalizing A1 on this if you call him for a foul; and you are unfairly adding to Team A's foul count.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote