Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
Falling away can only lessen the contact, not increase it. If the player had stood his ground, would it be a block? No, then don't call a block if they step/fall away from the contact.
|
Exactly. LGP doesn't turn into a block because a player might try to protect themselves a little from the contact by leaning backwards. It can
never be a block if the defender had LGP at the time of contact, and was moving in
any direction but towards the offensive player.
Calling a block because a defender falls backwards is just patently ridiculous imo. If you feel like no-calling it because of the lessened contact, fine, That's a judgement call. But don't make up your own rules and call it a block.