Quote:
Originally Posted by 81artmonk
About the falling away. some of you said that if the player begins to fall away before contact, you would call that blocking. I am curious how? If he still has both feet planted, has LGP by rule (you guys said it) even if he is moving (ie falling backwards) doesn't that still fall within the rules as long as LGP and feet planted are in effect??
|
If it looks like a flop, I"ll call it a block, but that doesn't happen very often. More often, the shooter will pull up just short, just as the defender begins to lean back. Then there could be quite a bit of contact, but I"ll call it incidental, and the coach wants it to have been a charge. There's a lot of judgment involved, it's not as simple as just yes-LGP-yes-charge.