View Single Post
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 25, 2007, 02:55pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyrao
Anyway, what happened after the shot is that a GEORGIA player grabbed for the rebound, bobbled the ball, and it went OOB. So, I am confused as to why ESPN reported that it was a alternating possession situation. Isn't a shot clock violation a turn over to the other team? If so, then it would be an Alabama ball. If they did not call the shot clock violation and judged that the ball hit the rim, then it would have been clearly OOB on Georgia and, thus, an Alabama ball. In either case I think AL would have retained the ball and still won the game. Am I missing something here?
Sure are. You're missing the fact that Lopes blew his whistle before the Georgia player got the rebound. He blew it while the missed shot was still in the air iow. It was an inadvertant whistle. You go to the POI in that situation, and the POI on an inadvertant whistle on a loose ball with no possession is an AP.
Reply With Quote