View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 17, 2007, 09:15pm
tjchamp tjchamp is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 168
Send a message via AIM to tjchamp
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
1. Yes, A1 must reenter and shoot the merited FTs for the personal foul. This would be the case even if the clock had not yet started. This is an exception to the substitution rule.
2005-06 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 1: A1 is fouled by B1 late in the second quarter. It is a common foul and the seventh Team B foul. The bonus situation is not recognized by the scorer or the officiating crew, and the Team A coach substitutes A6 for A1. A6 is beckoned onto the floor and A1 goes to the team bench. The scorer recognizes the error and sounds the horn (a) just before or (b) just after the administering official hands the ball to A2 for a throw-in. RULING: This is a correctable-error situation and falls within the proper timeframe for a correction. In both (a) and (b), A6 leaves the game with A1 re-entering to shoot the bonus free throw. Play is resumed as after any free-throw attempt(s). If the second free throw is successful and the coach desires, A6 may re-enter the contest. (2-10-1a; 2-10-6)

2. If the player is disqualified prior to attempting merited FTs then his substitute takes the throws.

RULE 8, SECTION 2 ATTEMPTING PERSONAL-FOUL FREE THROWS
The free throw(s) awarded because of a personal foul shall be attempted by the offended player. If such player must withdraw because of an injury or disqualification, his/her substitute shall attempt the throw(s) unless no substitute is available, in which case any teammate may attempt the throw(s) as selected by the team captain or head coach.
Great information. Where did you get the "interp" from? Is that online somewhere?
Reply With Quote