View Single Post
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 07, 2002, 05:47am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
A defensive player extending their arms away from their body does not automatically make the call a block. The call is dependant on where the contact occurs.If the contact is on the extended arms or elbows,etc.-i.e. outside the frame of the defender's torso-,then you have a foul on the defender.
JR,
I usually call that "Holding" and reserve the "Block" for lower body contact by the defender.
Either way, we get to blow the whistle and put up our fist.
mick
Good point,mick,I should have added that!I use the "hold" signal,too-even though I've had a few interpreter gurus argue that the only correct signal in this case is "illegal use of hands".In my defense,I gotta tell ya that as I was writing the above,Mikey(my main dog) and Vesta(my back-up dog)were yapping at me to go down and let them out-so I was in a hurry.Will you buy that one?
Reply With Quote