 
			
				Sun Jan 14, 2007, 10:24am
			
			
			
		  
	 | 
	
		
		
		
			
			| 
				
				 In Memoriam 
				
				
			 | 
			  | 
			
				
					Join Date: Nov 1999 
					Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan 
					
					
						Posts: 9,953
					 
					
					
					
					
					     
				 
			 | 
		 
		 
		
	 | 
	
	
		
	
		
		
		
		
			
			
	Quote: 
	
	
		| 
			
				 
					Originally Posted by bob jenkins
					
				 
				I think you and Mick are mis-interpreting hooptown's intent on his phrasing. He's saying "by rule, the official did not make an error, but from a game management point he did." 
  
In general, I agree with him. If it can be prevented, do so. Once it happens, however, it's too late. And, even if the crew is evaluated as a whole, there's no cause for overruling -- especially on a judgment issue. 
			
		 | 
	 
	 
 
	Quote: 
	
	
		| 
			
				 
					Originally Posted by hooptown
					
				 
				 ...Shooter's foot was on the line.... 
			
		 | 
	 
	 
 
	Quote: 
	
	
		| 
			
				 
					Originally Posted by hooptown
					
				 
				...By rule, there is no error. The shooter started and ended his free throw with a foot on the line. From a game management perspective the call looked BAAAD. 
			
		 | 
	 
	 
 
	Quote: 
	
	
		| 
			
				 
					Originally Posted by hooptown
					
				 
				 I did not check the shooters feet, and to be honest, I don't think I have ever checked the shooter's feet from lead. 
			
		 | 
	 
	 
 
Yeah, you could color me confused. That's why I asked the two questions.
		  
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	 |