Missed FT Violation - FYI
Had a close G V last night and a strange thing caught our eye. 30 years experience on the crew we all missed this one. Sharing.
As ball presented to a free-throw shooter, she would set her "toe "outside the line and slowly drag it back behind the line, set up and shoot without violation - all with the ball in her hand. Happened twice and did not effect outcome of the game.
This is a violation per Rule 9 ART. 7 . . . The free thrower shall not have either foot beyond the vertical plane of the edge of the free-throw line which is farther from the basket or the free-throw semicircle line.
We missed that this applies to preshot routines too.
When shooter gets the ball they should already be inside the semi-circle and stay there.
__________________
"Sports do not build character. They reveal it" - Heywood H. Broun
"Officiating does not build character. It reveal's it" - Ref Daddy
|