COULD Have Been Called
Jurassic Referee:
From BillyMac: "Previous to 2000-01, if the basket vibrated after the backboard was slapped, even if the slap was a legitimate attempt to block the shot, a technical foul could have been called".
Please note that I said "could" have been called. It probably "was" being called, which is probably why the NFHS came up with the clarification.
I spent a lot of time in my basement looking up information in my old rule books after officiating two CYO games this afternoon. I'm just trying to figure out the origin of this "vibrating" myth. I also spent some time looking up information about tattoos and the changing penalties for swinging elbows excessively. I haven't eaten dinner yet (Eastern Time Zone). Please give me a break and a little credit for trying to come up with the reason why coaches and fans want us to call technical fouls and award baskets when the basket is vibrated by a slapped backboard and for trying to come up with some information about tattoos and swinging elbows for the benefit of our younger or newer Forum members.
Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Jan 07, 2007 at 10:27pm.
|