View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 05, 2007, 10:37pm
BillyMac BillyMac is offline
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
Vibrating Backboard

Veteran officials. Please help me remember. I've only been holding on to my old rule books for about ten years or so.

At one time, many years ago, possibly as many as twenty-years ago, didn't the NFHS rule concerning contact with the backboard indicate that a technical foul was to be called if the contact caused the backboard and/or basket to VIBRATE. And if so, wasn't the rule changed, many years ago, to indicate that if contact was made during a legitimate attempt to block a shot that no technical foul was to be called, even if such contact caused the backboard and/or the basket to vibrate, as the rule now states. In any case, during the twenty-six years that I've been officiating, this situation has never been associated with basket interference, and the basket could never be awarded for contact with the backboard.
Reply With Quote