View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 04, 2007, 11:13pm
mplagrow mplagrow is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kaukauna, WI
Posts: 832
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie
The answer to your question is two-fold: 1) elbows to the face (or anywhere else) can easily be considered flagrant fouls and thus warrant a DQ (ejection in Fed rules are for coaches); 2) The official probably misspoke when saying the contact wasn't flagrant and that it was an automatic technical. He could have been inexperienced, read the rule wrong, been misinformed, or a number of other things. He could also have simply incorrectly stated what he did or what he called. I've done that before, usually when I'm thinking of something else while responding to someone.
One more possibility. Shave Tail has it secondhand from the father what the ref said or didn't say. It probably got lost in translation.
__________________
Quitters never win, winners never quit, but those who never win AND never quit are idiots.
Reply With Quote