View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 04, 2007, 09:08pm
PYRef
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukealex
Using 10-3-5 (a or b), a T is warranted. Striking the backboard to gain an advantage. If the striking of the backboard rattles the whole structure (including the basket) the movement could cause the shot to be missed.

I'm not worrying about explaining BI in its entirety, just only in this situation.
A player shall not place a hand on the backboard or ring to gain an advantage(10-3-5a), or while a try or tap is in flight, intentionally slap or strike the backboard or cause the ring to vibrate(10-3-5b)

I don't think 10-3-5a necessarily applies here. I tend to infer that this is in place to prevent a player from pushing off the backboard or ring to gain an advantage in position. (Only a possible scenario, JMO). What you are using to justify the call under 10-3-5a is specifically addressed, and allowed, by 10-3-5b.
The key word in 10-3-5b is intentionally. This is a most likely going to be a judgement call by the official if he was playing the ball, and not an automatic T because of the contact.

Last edited by PYRef; Thu Jan 04, 2007 at 09:12pm.
Reply With Quote