Thread: Boise State
View Single Post
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 04, 2007, 02:56pm
bisonlj bisonlj is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 922
I noticed that when I saw the play live but forgot about it with all the other excitement that followed. When I saw a replay later I watched him and agree it was diagonal. I assumed the official let it go because from his angle it wasn't quite as obvious. I've never heard that you make a judgement call for formation/motion/shift based on where the play goes or if it had an impact on the play. The only time I do that is if the movement is so slight that the movement itself did not have an impact on the play or if it's a 30-point game late in the 4th quarter and a 40-degree rain.

I'm not saying the wing official missed the call but I disagree with TXMike that you make a judgement call based on the rest of the play for motion/shift/formation penalties.
Reply With Quote