Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
This is not the issue. The issue is whether this request, which was made while airborne, can still be granted after he lands out of bounds.
|
Let's ignore the ncaa case, by now we all know airborne player heading OOB or backcourt cannot get a time out.
Under fed the answer to your question is yes.
Example: A1 airborne with the ball requests a timeout just before he lands OOB. Official recognizes the request and blows the whistle immediately after A1 lands OOB.
Are you trying to tell us the official is required by rule to recognize and whistle the TO request *before* A1 lands OOB in this case? If so, do you have rule support to determine how close A1 must be to landing before we cannot grant the time out? Or do we kinda make this up as we go along?
"Sorry coach, I can't give him the timeout. Yeah I know he requested it before landing out of bounds, but he asked
too late..."