View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 18, 2006, 10:47am
Dan_ref Dan_ref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by amcginthy
Our scorekeeper and I brought it to the attention of the REFs, but they said that since there was a dicrepency in the books, that the official book (home) was what they would go by (fair enough, mistakes happen). But then, when the 5th / 6th foul was picked up, somehow, the official book realized something, and notified the official that it was actually 6 fouls.
Coach, have your scorekeeper sit with the official scorekeeper and you will never have this problem again.
Quote:

In the heat of the game, I thought it should be a T (of course I did), then thinking about it, I thought probably not.... But, your comment about a clerical error made me think back - what about an incorrect number in the book - that's a clerical error - but results in an Administrative T... (go easy on me guys - I'm not a REF, I'm a coach these aren't the easiest rules to interpret - even if you do know the rules - at least not for me )
This is a great question and there were some heated discussions about how to handle this type of thing related to excessive timeouts in the last 2 or 3 weeks. Team A takes an excessive timeout, is assessed a T but afterwards it's discovered that team A did have a timeout remaining afterall.

Some kind soul will find it & post a link.

An incorrect number in the book is a clerical error *only* if you can show that you supplied the correct number prior to the 10 minute pre-game mark. If you can't do this then it's not a clerical error.
Reply With Quote