View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 14, 2006, 01:47pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
I too think Peter's correct.

Fed 7-6-1 states:

...The thrower shall release the ball on a pass directly into the court, except as in 7-5-7, within five seconds after the throw-in starts. The throw-in pass shall touch another player (inbounds or out of bounds) before going out of bounds untouched...

Unless I misinterpret the words I underlined it is not a throw-in violation for the ball to touch a player out of bounds on the throw-in. So the throw-in ends legally and the player OOB violates by being OOB when he touches the ball (what we non-hair splitters call "causes the ball the be OOB").
FED 7-6-1 is exactly the same as FED 9-2-2. The listed penalty for 9-2-2 is a throw-in to the opponents from the original throw-in spot.

Didn't the player who caught the throw-in OOB also violate rule 9-2-10--"No player shall be out of bounds when he/she touches or is touched by by the ball after it has been released on a throw-in pass"? The listed penalty for doing that also is a throw-in to the opponents at the original throw-in spot.

Unfortunately, the literal writing of R9-2PENALTY(Section 2) states that the throw-in spot following these particular violations is at the original throw-in spot. Peter Webb may be right in theory, but until he gets the book changed to reflect his theory, he is wrong imo.