View Single Post
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 08, 2006, 02:45pm
Back In The Saddle Back In The Saddle is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by eg-italy
Of course not. But the rules (at least ours) cover specifically this situation and say that you don't look at the severity of the contact, provided the players had the opportunity to get at the ball without causing illegal contact: if B2 had free space towards the ball, then the ensuing contact is incidental. So, just saying that A2 falls is not sufficient.

It's not a question of "sissy ball", I agree. But it's not an automatic foul either. If A2 was between B2 and the ball, then I'm inclined to call a foul on B2, but have to see the play to judge.
I don't know if FIBA espouses this philosophy or not, perhaps they do in different words. In HS rules when two (or more) players are going for a loose ball, long pass, etc., you have to look at how advantageous each of those player's positions is. For example, if you have two opposing players coming from opposite directions to secure a loose ball and they collide, you may well have nothing as neither player was in a more advantageous position. In the OP, A2 is between B2 and the ball, and thus has a significantly more advantageous position. If B2 causes illegal contact that negates that advantage, that's a foul.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote