Thread: Pregame melee
View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 30, 2006, 03:20pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018
Home coach should not have been assessed an indirect. Should have been charged to home team, counting on home team's team-foul count.

Visiting coach gets indirect, player gets direct, coach loses box, and counts toward player's 5 fouls, 2 technicals, and team's foul count.

As for starting play, it appears this falls under the "penalize in order they occur" philosophy, and therefore, home should have been awarded the ball to start the game.
For the calls that were made, this is the correct administration in an NFHS game.

However, I have to question why the home team was charged with an administrative technical foul in the first place. There is no requirement that the team roster actually be in the scorebook at the ten minute mark. All that the rule says is that the team must supply the scorer with the roster by that time. If both teams put a roster on the table, then each of them fulfilled the requirement. If neither team did this, then by rule you should be charging a T to both teams, not just the home team.

The fact that there is no scorebook at this time is nothing to panic about.
Furthermore, while the scorebook is required to remain at the table "throughout the game," there is no penalty listed, if it doesn't. So you can't charge a T for the home team having the book show up late.
Also, I'm not even sure that ten minutes prior to the scheduled tipoff falls under that phrase.
Reply With Quote