View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 29, 2006, 06:18pm
eg-italy eg-italy is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018
Both Team A and Team B are in the bonus. A1 is dribbling in the front court when B1 reaches in and bats the ball loose into the lane. In the process of going for the loose ball, A2 fouls B2 prior to any player controlling the ball.

The way I read the rule, this is a team control foul and there should be no free throw. Correct?

This is the one time I feel the team control foul is unfair...
Team control is still for team A. We (FIBA) have the same rule: no free throws on team control (common) foul.

Is it unfair? I don't know, but the line has to be drawn somewhere: team control is an objective fact. Would you assign free throws based on the distance of the ball from the player who was holding or dribbling it? If more than one meter (sorry, 3 ft ) would you assign FTs? Then, what about a foul during a pass?

Unfortunately, in situations like this one there are frequent mistakes, when the official only looks at the loose ball and doesn't think to team control. Does this happen also there?

Ciao
Reply With Quote