Thread: clock work
View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 28, 2002, 12:54pm
112448 112448 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Under NFHS rules, the clock is started when the ball is touched inbounds. It doesn't matter whether it legally touched or illegally touched. This is not a timer's mistake, as he did exactly what he was supposed to. The timer has one second of lag time to stop the clock. I'd say, to start and stop it within a half second, you had a pretty good timer. 5-9-4, 5.10.1

daves, while your advice may seem sensible, that is not the rule. 5-9-1
under NCAA rules, the clock starts when it legally touches or is touched by a player inbounds. 5-11-4.

I agree with everyone that has stated, "reset the clock back to 6.4 and let the timer know to look for your chop."

this is another one of those situations where the NCAA rule is 100% better than the h.s. rule (e.g., jumper catches the ball at the start of game. h.s.- offended team gets ball and arrow. ncaa- offended team gets ball, but offending team gets arrow). i could go on and on.

Jake

Reply With Quote