Rich,
The rules states the pitcher must drop his hands to his sides, so I guess the phrase "separate his hands" is incorrect.
Around here if the pitcher steps off and throws directly to a base without dropping his hands to his side first, we call it a balk. As indicated, I guess we're going to have to re-evaluate this but I can hear everyone now, "That's not what the rulebook says and the pitcher does it to deceive the runner, so it's a balk".
I'll have to try the "show me in 8.05 where it would be a balk".
Last edited by tibear; Thu Nov 23, 2006 at 11:23am.
|