Thread: Balk question
View Single Post
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 22, 2006, 05:01pm
Dave Hensley Dave Hensley is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by tibear
bob,

According to OBR:

Rule 8.01 Comment: Pitchers may disengage the rubber after taking their signs but may not step quickly onto the rubber and pitch. This may be judged a quick pitch by the umpire. When the pitcher disengages the rubber, he must drop his hands to his sides.

According to rule 8.01, the pitcher MUST separate his hands as he disengages the rubber.
That's not a correct interpretation. Bob is correct, and is supported by multiple references in the authoritative literature.
Reply With Quote