Thread: Ncaa Blarge?
View Single Post
  #69 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 16, 2006, 11:32pm
Daryl H. Long Daryl H. Long is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Jerry City, Ohio
Posts: 394
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Case 4.19.8 Situation C.
Also, BadNewsRef quoted NCAA 7-5-17 and A.R.159 and admits that the word BLARGE is never used.

That is my point exactly. What good is an interpretation if it does not have a rules citation to back it up? With out rule the interpretation loses all integrity and credibility. Without rule it is wrong. As is NF Case 4.19.8 and NCAA A.R. 159.

Let's quit being sheep following whatever the NF or NCAA says blindly. let's make them accountable by making case book interpretation based on rule.

Double fouls can happen but not when legal guarding position by defense is involved against a player with the ball. If the defense maintains LGP and contact is initiated by the ball handler then player control foul. If contact is made by defender who did not get LGP the the onus of responsibility to avoid contact is on him and a blocking foul is to be called. Same if the defense has LGP but moves into the ball handler instead of obliqely; block.

You can not ignore the rules of contact just because NF and NCAA do not have the guts to tell the officials to communicate and decide who had primary coverage and let him take the call.
Reply With Quote