View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 16, 2006, 12:23pm
Gimlet25id Gimlet25id is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, IN
Posts: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
The discussion of the NCAA rule for subbing made me look real hard at 3-4-12. Here's the whole article:

Now, what happens if the game clock never starts while his or her replacement is in the game? Let's take the exact scenario from the other thread. Technical foul on B1. A6 enters the game to shoot the free throws, replacing A1. After the second free throw, A7 enters the game, replacing A6. Now the ball is inbounded, the clock runs and the ball is deflected out of bounds. A1 is at the table to re-enter the game. But the clock never ran while A1's replacement was in the game.

OBVIOUSLY, we're going to let A1 back in the game. So then what's the point of saying "provided that the game clock has been properly started with his or her replacement in the game"?
If A6 was replaced with A7 before any time ran off the clock, then A7 is considered the replacement for A1. Go a step farther and after A7 comes in the A team coach calls a time out. Before the first horn he replaces A7 with A8. A8 then would be considered the replacement for A1.
__________________
It is what it is!!
Reply With Quote