View Single Post
  #63 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 11, 2006, 11:35pm
Gimlet25id Gimlet25id is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, IN
Posts: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
Is there anything in the rule book which says that anything the official says has enough weight to override a rule? If so, I may rethink my position. I find nothing in the rule book that even says that an official shall say how many free throws there are. (mechanics manual does) Look at it the other way: Official says 1 & 1, but the players all know better. Ball comes off the rim and bounces on the floor, untouched, for several seconds. Following your line of reasoning, you're now going to clear the lane, shoot the second, and then use the arrow?
I assuming that it was supposed to be a 2 shot foul. If so, then in the scenario you list wouldn't result in a change of possession. If no change of possession happened then you would just simply line the players back up for the second throw and play on. That would be the POI.
__________________
It is what it is!!
Reply With Quote